We have to fill out background check forms for Canada to make sure we can cross the border. we are told we are required to get passports ASAP. Oh joy...that's about $170.00 I don't have. My roommate gets called into the directors office and comes out and gets his stuff and is gone...he was released for something in his background for Canada.
We go to the skills course...we are divided into 4 person teams and told to get into a truck, bobtail with no trailer, the instructor gets in the drivers seat and tells what we are gonna do and how to shift gears, she drives the track twice and gets out...we take turns...nervous as hell, this is not like driving grandma's Oldsmobile. I get in let out the clutch to take off in third gear, WTH in third gear and away I go...double clutch and I am in 4th no problems, double clutch and I can't hit 5th, stop back to 3rd and off again, double clutch and hit 4th, double clutch and hit 5th...awesome right? Time to downshift to 4th and can't do it...damn. Stop and start all over again, get the upshift perfect and grind on the downshift, but its there...need more practice getting the RPM's and speed just right. Moral of this story is...driving a big rig is NOT like driving a standard car or pick-up.
I am off to DPS to take my written test for my permit...pass with a 98...woohoo I now have a CDL learners permit, watch out.
No comments:
Post a Comment